What was something that someone said or did that has changed you forever?

What was something that someone said or did that has changed you forever? by @meporter

Answer by Matthew E. Porter:

Seven years ago, my wife told our 6 year old daughter about our wedding weekend. My wife had moved back home to spend the weekend with her family.

As I was tucking in our daughter later that night, she asked if she could “come home like mommy did” when she gets married one day. (Hopefully, one day far off into the future…) I told her she absolutely could come home and our house would always be open to her. She gave me a big hug and a kiss on the cheek. She was giddy.

After a few seconds, I could see her mind churning. She then poked me in the belly and told me, “You have a lot of squishy. I don't know if you are going to make it.”

I was shocked. It was true that my health had taken a huge downturn the previous 5 years as I was building Contegix. I had not thought about it as destroying a future with my family. A 6-year old saw what I missed.

I decided to run a mile the next morning. I couldn't make it 1/4 mile. I didn't give up and went out the next morning.

Seven years later, I have kept off 60 lbs and regularly run ultra marathons. I attempted my first 100 miler last August, but I missed cut off time at mile 87 after running on a torn hamstring for the previous 79 miles.

Yet, the most important distance I will ever go will be walking her down the aisle one day. I may not have made it if it wasn't for the honesty and innocence of a 6-year old.

What was something that someone said or did that has changed you forever?

Leave a comment